There are some modifications to the default back-ups on Google. Social media folders will not have the backup feature by default along with Google photos and videos. In other words, such social media apps that have folders or created and managed will not have default permissions for backup along with images and videos.
In the past, Google’s photo backup platform used to automatically backup folders on apps like Instagram, Facebook, and WhatsApp. However Google has turned off this feature, and users need to run manual backups on specific folders if they wish to, while additional content is being added to such folders.
The tech giant has been floating with a huge image sharing option since the ongoing coronavirus pandemic hit the world. The company said that people are sharing more photos and videos due to COVID-19. So, the firm initiates measures to save internet resources by turning off backup & sync for device folders created by social media apps.